Solomon's Words for the Wise



Southern Tier Polaris, Olean, NY

Solomon's Auction & Yard Sale Page


Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Official Potter County Election Results

resultselectionBy Paul Heimel

Members of the Potter County Canvassing and Computing Board completed the official count of results from the Nov. 3 Municipal Election on Thursday. There were no significant changes from the unofficial results which were reported on election night. Board members reconvened this morning to begin a state-mandated recount of results from the Pennsylvania Superior Court race.

Official totals showed Republican nominee Steve Minor with 2,960 votes and Democratic nominee Dan Glassmire with 2,042 votes for Judge of the Court of Common Pleas. Andy Watson, nominated by both parties, received 4,076 votes for District Attorney. There were 549 write-in votes cast for incumbent Dawn Fink. County Coroner Kevin Dusenbury received 4,677 votes. Incumbent Jury Commissioners Dean Dow (R) and Norma Cobb Nichols (D) received 3,586 and 1,287 votes, respectively.

Majority of municipal and school board seats decided in the Nov. 3 election were uncontested. All three seats on the Ulysses Township Board of Supervisors were filled. Marc Bennett (R) won the six-year term with 145 votes; Democratic incumbent E. Gene Kosa trailed with 55. James E. Hoopes (R) won the four-year term with 90 votes. Democratic incumbent Earl Jordan trailed with 53 and write-in candidate Otto Orszagh had 59. Claude Seely (R), also an incumbent, was unopposed for the two-year term.

Debra D. Ostrom, who won both party nominations for Roulette Township tax collector, was elected with 167 votes. There were 153 write-in votes cast, the majority of them for incumbent Agnes Nolder.

Joseph T. Lagrua (R) defeated Wayne Walker (D) for a seat on the Eulalia Township Board of Supervisors, 141 to 111. However, Lagrua was also re-elected to the Coudersport Area Board of Education from Region I (Coudersport Borough First Ward and Eulalia Township) and is prohibited by law from holding both elective positions. Lagrua and Jalyn Tezik were unopposed for the two Region I seats being filled this year. Darla Cowburn and Russ Streich were unopposed for school board seats in their regions.

Philip VanWhy was elected Mayor of Austin Borough by majority of write-in votes.

Charles Bach Jr., Democratic and Republican nominee, held off a write-in campaign on behalf of two challengers for a seat on the Galeton Area Board of Education, with 168 total votes from Region III (Abbott, Hector, Pike and West Branch townships). Michele Proctor received 121 votes and Cindy Succowich received 54.

Marlene Pearsall and write-in candidate Mike Hoza were elected to four-year terms on the Galeton Area Board of Education from Region I (Galeton Second Ward). April Rukgaber was unopposed for the two-year term from Region I.

Kelly Macensky (R) and write-in candidates Bill Pinney and Dale Fuller were elected to seats on Galeton Borough Council.

Elected through write-in votes to the Abbott Township Board of Supervisors were John Yilek (six-year term) and Richard Burton (two-year term).

Janice Reynolds (D) defeated Charlotte Schweigart (R) for tax collector in Harrison Township, 158 to 90.

Joel Wheeler (D, R) held off a write-in campaign on behalf of Dennis Snyder for a seat on the Northern Potter School District Board of Directors, 202 to 58.

In Keating Township, Charles Smith (R) defeated Bonnie Eckert (D), 69-39, for a six-year term on the Board of Supervisors; and Michael Tumas (R) topped Kenneth Van Sickles (D), 65 to 39, for the two-year term.

Elected to seats on the Austin Area Board of Education from Region II (Keating and Sylvania townships) were Leona Miller (R) and Sherri Lamer (D, R), with 93 and 74 votes, respectively. Laura S. McLeod (D) finished with 50 votes. Ralph Young was leading write-in vote recipient for a school board seat from Region III (Portage and Wharton townships). Britta Hooftallen and Michele Valenti were unopposed for the two seats from Region I (Austin Borough).

Portage Township voters chose John Gentzel (D) for a seat on the Board of Supervisors over Dale B. Foster (R), 38 to 33.

Incumbent Barbara Carpenter was re-elected tax collector in Sharon Township with 131 votes. Jane Rice received 46 write-in votes.

In West Branch Township, Republican Rachel Pagano won the race for tax collector over Democrat Marcy Wallace, 102 to 52. Potter County Today

Commissioner Paul Hemel writes:

Well, at long last, I can confirm that we've posted some results on Potter County Today covering most of the contested races. There were a few contested races for inspector of election, judge of election, etc., that we didn't list. But we did include the ones about which there seemed to be some public interest.

The ledger books are available to anyone who wants to visit the office to view them, and Sandy or Toni at the office can field phone calls and look up specific township, borough or school district races for anyone who wants to know anything specific.

When the new county government website launches in the coming weeks, I will be encouraging Voter Registration/Elections and other departments to actively update their web pages and I think it will be an appreciated public service.

Editor's note: Our thanks to Commissioner Paul Heimel for his very timely response to our email request of last night. You have our profound gratitude.


Anonymous said...

Now, how hard was that?

Just a shame a commissioner had to do the job for the woman who obviously cannot do it herself.

Is it really THAT difficult to count votes???

We still haven't heard why McKean Co. can post their results the same night, but we have to wait weeks.

Oz said...

Although I agree with the 4:33 poster about the McKean Co. results I am thankful to Paul for getting the information to us!

Anonymous said...

The people that work in this office are to busy to get this info out on time but if you call them they can look it up for you.YEA OK !

Anonymous said...

Who is designing the new County website?

Anonymous said...

The information has been available and still is available at the Election Office for anyone who visits or calls and asks for it.

Anonymous said...

The results you're accustomed to are the "unofficial" results tabulated at the polling place and "read out" as they are brought into the courthouse. The official count requires a state-mandated "canvassing and computing" that involves only about four people going back over all the returns - and takes days because every variant spelling of every write-in must be recorded and counted... in every precinct! It can be a freaking nightmare some years. The woman in the election office – Sandy Lewis – is extraordinarily competent and works her butt off for several week prior to and after every election.