Coudersport Ice Mine Opens On Friday, June 5th. Hours are 10 a.m.- 6 p.m. Wednesday thru Sunday. Admission Adults $5.00. Children 6-12 $2.50. 176 Ice Mine Road, Coudersport, PA.

Stoltz of Coudersport

Howard's Inc, Coudersport, PA



Solomon's Words for the Wise



Southern Tier Polaris, Olean, NY

Do You Know: You can buy this marquee ad on Solomon's words for the wise for your business or event for only $10. per day! It's just one of the low cost advertising options available. Your ad is viewed 40,000 to 70,000 times every day. Email us for information on other ad locations.

Solomon's Auction & Yard Sale Page


Saturday, October 16, 2010

Local High School Journalists Among Award Winners

Communications Day speaker MaryLynn Ryan is presented an Award of Excellence from Lee Coppola, dean of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at St. Bonaventure University.

High school journalists earn awards at St. Bonaventure University’s Communications Day 2010

ST. BONAVENTURE, N.Y. — High school students from across Western New York and Northern Pennsylvania were honored Friday (Oct. 15, 2010) at St. Bonaventure University’s Communications Day, an annual celebration of high school journalism hosted by the Russell J. Jandoli School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Buffalo City Honors School received the Buffalo News’ Bertram Freed Memorial Award for overall excellence.

More than 250 students from 16 high schools attended. Workshops in social media, radio, TV, newswriting and yearbooks filled the students’ morning before an afternoon keynote address given by MaryLynn Ryan, bureau chief of the Southeast region for CNN/U.S. Following her talk, Ryan was presented the Russell J. Jandoli Memorial Award of Excellence “for demonstrating courage in journalism and encouragement of youth.”

The School of Journalism and Mass Communication also took the occasion to add a member to its Wall of Distinguished Graduates – a series of plaques permanently displayed in the John J. Murphy Professional Building on campus. The wall pays tribute to journalism and mass communication graduates who have been recognized for outstanding contributions that reflect admirably on the school and university.

Carol A. Schumacher, vice president of investor relations at Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., and a 1978 St. Bonaventure alumna, became the school’s 15th distinguished graduate to be honored with a plaque on the wall.

Schumacher joined Wal-Mart in October 2004, serving as vice president of corporate affairs for a year before taking her current position. She manages and oversees the company’s global communications with the investment community, financial media and Walmart associates. She is the company’s primary spokesperson to analysts and investors around the world.

Schumacher is a past president of the National Alumni Board for St. Bonaventure and completed a two-year term on the university’s Board of Trustees. She was named Alumna of the Year in 1998.

She attended Friday’s ceremony with her husband, Bob Kelly, and their son Garrett.

The following schools participated in Communications Day: Brocton Central High School, Buffalo City Honors School, Cassadaga Valley Central School, Corry Area High School, Dunkirk Senior High School, Eisenhower High School, Fredonia High School, Kane Area High School, Lake Shore Senior High School, North Collins High School, Orchard Park High School, Oswayo High School, Otto-Eldred High School, Our Lady of Mercy High School, Salamanca High School, and Southwestern High School.

A list of award winners follows:

Adviser of the Year Award
Nancy Main, Cassadaga Valley Central School

Russell J. Jandoli Memorial Award
Angela Smith, Our Lady of Mercy High School

Bertram Freed Memorial Award
Buffalo City Honors School

First (tie): Brocton Review, Brocton High School; and Trapezoid, Brighton High School
Third: Cougar Beat, Cassadaga Valley Central School

News Magazine
First: Spectator, Fredonia High School
Second: Voice, Orchard Park High School
Third: Silent Noise [!], Buffalo City Honors School

First: Warrior Vision Production, Salamanca High School

First: Centralian – Southwestern High School
Second: Folio – Fredonia High School
Third: Hurri-Kane – Kane Area High School

Depth Reporting
First: Christian Deakin, Brocton High School
Second: Nate Aldrich, Fredonia High School
Third (tie): Amrita Singh, Brighton High School; and Jacob Cunningham, Fredonia High School

Entertainment Review
First: Stanford Schor, Brighton High School
Second (tie): Chaz Mancino, Fredonia High School; and Marisa Bartolotta, Buffalo City Honors School

First: Dylan Burns, Buffalo City Honors School
Second: Madeleine Burns, Buffalo City Honors School
Third (tie): Fatima Bawany, Brighton High School; and Dylan Burns, Buffalo City Honors School

First: Christian Deakin, Brocton High School
Second: Ross DiPronio, Orchard Park High School
Third: Katelyn Stahlman, Brocton High School

News Reporting
First: Megan Borgstom, Brocton High School
Second: Mark Belcher, Brocton High School
Third: Nabiha Ahsan, Brighton Central School

First (tie): Josh Weiner, Brighton High School; and Rachel Bialaszewski, Brocton High School
Second: Stanford Schor, Brighton High School
Third: Simone Liano, Brighton High School

Personality Profile
First: James Gilfert, Wellsville High School
Second: Sandy Uwimana, Brighton High School
Third: Katelyn DeChrd, Cassadaga Valley High School

First: Natasha Boghani, Brighton High School
Second: Lexi Kendall, Brocton Central School
Third: Krystina George, Oswayo Valley High School

Sports Features
First: Mark Belcher, Brocton High School
Second: Hans Glick, Buffalo City Honors School
Third: Chad Mason, Fredonia High School

Sports Reporting
First: Andrea Hurley, Fredonia High School
Second: Talor Wilber, Otto-Eldred High School
Third: Matt Sant-Miller, Brighton High School

Yearbook features
First: Stephanie Salerno, Kane Area High School
Second (tie): Heidi Klaiber, Kane Area High School; and Minh Viet Le, Buffalo City Honors School
Third (tie): Lacey Anderson and Kathryn Bizzak, Kane Area High School

First: Harvest Zhang, Brighton High School
Second: Suzanne Wu, Brighton High School
Third: Nadia Wakabayaski, Brighton High School

Editors note:
Solomon's words for the wise editor, James Jones, was the First Place Winner in the Editorial division in 1958 with an editorial entitled "On Integration" published in the Olean High School newspaper, "The Tel-O-Scope".

In 1958, Communications Day was called Press Day.

The editorial explored the integration of blacks and whites in schools, which resulted in race riots in some of the major cities. It featured quotes from blacks and whites in Greensboro, North Carolina, and how they felt about integration.

It concluded with hope for the youth of our nation to put away prejudices of the past, and embrace feelings of equality for all people, regardless of skin color. A hope that, in most of our country, has been accomplished today.

Let's hope our society can accomplish the same results with other prejudices that are still evident today.
I encourage these future journalists to use their editorial influence to help accomplish those goals.


ken said...


You were ahead of your time-light years! Still ticking after taking a licking, your latter will be greater than your youth!

Keep up the great blog-thanks.


Anonymous said...

Indeed it's a tribute to Jim.
And although I have never met him,
I can say that I'm sure,
His blog it will soar.
So kudos and dildines and more!